Head in Sand

I had grand plans this weekend since I was going to be by myself for most of it, but I seriously underestimated the amount of time and energy I would have. I did get some stuff done, though.

img_1879

The Fightin’ Words are continuing as the have, that is to say; slowly. I haven’t had to rip them out since I last posted, though, so that’s progress. I’ve found that having read a few posts and that actually helped. Color me surprised. I’ve switched to using just 2

I’ve switched to using just 2 dpns, something I sometimes do with socks. I don’t know if it’s helpful with the colorwork, but I’m under the delusion that it does. I was planning to actually commit an blasphemy try something new and switch to magic loop, but all my circulars seem to be like 2.5 US, even though I think they were originally 2 US. I’m keeping my floats loose and praying for the best. I haven’t tried it on since the ribbing. I’m not even considering it won’t fit.

I’ve also started my February entry for the BoxOSox KAL and the AKSockness KAL. The theme for February for the Sockness KAL is ‘Funky Heals’. I chose the pattern Achilles’ Heal. It’s a knitty pattern I’d never heard of.

I spent some time playing with what little light there is in my dorm room and was still unable to capture the light that I swear to you is in my room.

img_1882

I took pictures from another angle and was able to capture the essence of the sock so far.

img_1883

There isn’t much to it yet, I’m not even done with the ribbing yet. The yarn seems to be a very round, robust fingering weight and the ribbing seems to be almost choking itself on my new US 1 (2.25 mm) Chiaogoo needles. I like them they’re slick and pointy, almost too pointy. I’m waiting for me to impale myself through my purse or something. I’m using
Patons North America Kroy Socks FX in an unknown colorway. I received it during the #getyouryarnwishesgranted from @knittersgonnaknit. I’m liking it so far.

Leave a Reply

