Knitting, Finally

Friday might have been the 13th, but Thursday was my unlucky day. I was just having a miserable day and finally convinced myself to get out of my empty, dark house and do something. I decided to go the LYS instead of the bar (I jest, I’m 21 but I don’t drink). Once I got there, I spent a few hours talking to the owner and knitting. I worked on my Mercury Socks, which I am fully addicted to. (Good thing; I want them to be my January entry into the BoxO’Sox KAL and the Arctic Knits Sockness KAL)

I took some pictures of them this morning, complete with cat of course.

img_1708

img_1715

I’m about 5 inches into the 7-inch leg on the first sock (including ribbing). Bad news- one of my DPNs disappeared last night. I know I had all four when I left the LYS because I knit on the socks while I was waiting for the noodles to boil last night. I’ve checked all over the kitchen and the living room, down in the couches, under chairs etc. but I can’t find it anywhere. I blame the cat. She might be trying to tell me she is tired of modeling the sock.

I ordered a new set of US 1 (2.25 mm I think) needles on amazon while I was getting my textbooks. Hopefully, they’ll be here soon since I wanted them to be my January entry for two KALs. I’m already kinda iffy on whether I can knit 12 pairs of socks in a year, so this isn’t helping my self-esteem.

Anyway, back to the LYS. I bought 2 skeins of yarn while I was there because I decided I needed a pick-me-up.

I bought a skein of Ella Rea Lace Merino DK yarn in ‘BI Pink, or 206.

img_1726

The picture is dark, but the colors are as close to accurate as possible. I also bought a skein of Cascade Yarns 220 Superwash Aran Splatter. The picture isn’t quite right color-wise, but it’s the best I can do.

img_1722

I also finished the Geek Feminist Revolution and will be writing up a review for it (spoiler alert: I loved it). Would you guys be interested in me posting it here?

Leave a Reply

