What’s Monogamy?

I told you I could feel a coup coming. I could feel it in my bones.

I finished off the ball of green on the ten stitch blanket that I have finally taken a picture of.

img_1702

I flung aside the shawl in Calliope that was finally starting to look the way I thought I might want it to. (See? It landed on the cat.)

img_1697

And I started a sock.

img_1695

It’s a k1tbl, p1 ribbing for the Mercury Socks. (modified from the pattern’s K2 P1 ribbing) It can be seen below at my brother’s futsal game, with my new copy of the Geek Feminist Revolution, by Kameron Hurley.

sockgfr

I had been enamored with the pattern since I saw it on the Yarngasm podcast, and when I rationalized realized that none of my projects were suited for portable court-side knitting, I decided to cast on one of the two Schoppel-Wolle. Ambiente balls (in the colorway Katzenbeißer, meaning ‘cat biter’ which I find hilarious given the impending Women’s March on Washington DC and the p_ssyhat project, and the state of American Politics in general, but I digress) that I bought last spring. I had a moment of anxiety before I threw the slightly messy ball into my project bag. I had been hoarding coveting saving it for almost a year, and it was hard to decide to use it.

I’ve been planning to use it as a travel-only project, but as I continue to be lukewarm about my shawl-in-the-making the sock is calling to me.

Maybe I’ll work on my blanket a bit.

2 thoughts on “What’s Monogamy?

  1. Looks nice!
    Did you know Katzenbeißer also is a wine? So a glass would go nicely with the Katzenbeißer Schoppel-Wolle 🙂
    Schoppel is nice to work with. The only yarn I’ve encountered so far that I can rely on the given gauch.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I like schoppel as well because I knit a pair of socks out of it years ago and then unravelled it and reknitted them. They’re still together and nice, despite having to darn one heel, though one would expect that from ANY yarn that’s 5 years old.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

