Linen Lust

I have been coveting a skein of yarn since I grabbed it from the Shirsty Cat Designs booth at the Steel City Fiber Festival. It’s a skein of Calliope, in her Just Fingering base, if you’re curious. It makes me feel swoopingly happy and yet sad at the same time. It reminds me, actually, of this song.

After hearing of Carrie Fisher’s death, and feeling the compounded shite-ness of this year (not limited to celebrity deaths, though this one hit me in a rather personal place), I knew it was time to cast on my yarn.

What to make of it? Well, a shawl was the obvious answer. But, what so about the wild varigation? After a cursory google search, I found this article. While, I definitely recommend that you read the full blog post yourself, the main points of the post are as follows.

Look For Patterns With Small Lace Repeats

Slipped Stitches And Variegated Yarns Are A Match Made In Heaven

Add Some Texture

Combine with a Semi-Solid/Solid Colour

Choose a simple design and let the yarn speak

Keeping this in mind, I made a swatch. (I know, right?)

img_1677

I normally don’t leave my pictures big, but I wanted you guys to be able to see the texture. I loved the first section, linen stitch. The second section, not so much, a slip stitch pattern I realized I messed up after the fact. The third section, a basket weave pattern, I liked almost as much as the first. The fourth was a short-lived attempt at the second section, correctly this time. I still didn’t like it.

So, I cast on a triangular top-down shawl, using the linen stitch to start with.

img_1684

Again, a bigger picture for details’ sake.

I don’t like it. I just don’t like the way the linen stitch looks running diagonally in this shawl. It’s in time-out for now, while I work on a charity knit that I’ll tell you about next time. For now, suggestions? I have a few ideas percolating, but I want to hear what you guys think first.

Thanks.

Leave a Reply

