I’ve Been Knitting my Socks Wrong

There’s no clever or witty way to ease into it; I’ve been knitting my socks wrong. Now, you may be thinking “but Sarah, knitting is very individualized and it doesn’t really matter”. And, well, you’re mostly right. But, I have proof.

img_9189

These are the vanilla socks I knit for my step-grandfather. (I’m still considering writing the pattern out, but it’s wrong!)

img_9196

These are the socks I knit for my step-grandmother they were essentially the same pattern as the ones for my grandfather, but in DK weight yarn, with smaller needles and adjusted accordingly.

So they look fine, right? They fit my feet well, though my grandfather’s are a bit loose and my grandmother’s are a smidge tight owing to the fact that their feet are differently-sized than mine. The heels are a bit boxy, but that’s how it is when you do a heel flap right? (no) I love the way the neat little gusset sections look as well.

Then, when I was pouring over Socks Socks Socks book that jake got me, and I was looking at their genius anatomy of a sock section (really, all of the book is genius. Very 1999, but genius) and I realized I don’t actually turn my heels!

The worst was I noticed 2/3 of the way through my grandmother’s socks, but decided to continue with them the rest of the way through.

img_9250

I circled the bit that I forget to do. It’s usually, apparently, a short row section. Who knew? Everybody but me. I also drew lines showing what I did. I knit the leg, the heel flap and skipped merrily along to picking up the gusset stitches. I also highlighted the section on the picture at the top of the page.

4 thoughts on “I’ve Been Knitting my Socks Wrong

  1. If memory serves, heel turns are kind of a newish kind of thing. I think sock knitting used to be basically what you described: knit around and around, knit flap, pick up gusset stitches, and go, no heel turn. I could be wrong. I’m a little lacking on my knitting history but I seem to remember reading that somewhere. Meh, whatever. It works. No reason why it shouldn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

