Resurrecting Dresses (Part 2)

A new Goodwill popped up in the little town where I go to college. It’s been there for a couple months but I had yet to find anything beyond a few shirts I wanted too wear as they were.

A few weeks or so ago I found two dresses that I loved. In a fit of brilliance, though, I forgot to take before pictures. The best I can do are some (rather dodgy) screen shots of the before footage from Episode 32.

I knew when I picked the red dress off of the rack that I wanted to take out the waist panel and to shorted the hem by a bit. The purple dress I was less sure about. I knew I wanted to shorten it as well. My only other idea was to take off the buttons and find other ones to replace them with.

I had the time over spring break to modify them, so I got to it. The first thing I did was to play around with folding the dress to see what it would look like if I made certain modifications since I wasn’t 100% sure how to change it. In the  end I decided I liked the look of it hemmed up and with the sleeves removed so I seam ripped out the sleeves and hemmed them to make it sleeveless.

Then, like I did for the red dress, I put the dress on to see where it fell at knee-length. I folded it up and pinned it. I ended up raising this one even more than I did the red one, a whopping 7 & 1/2 inches (19 centimeters). Scandalous!

After that it looked exactly like what I hadn’t known I had wanted. There was less fabric and the pattern seemed less overwhelming to look straight at.

IMG_8731

Enjoyed this post? Check out the first installment where I resurrected the red dress above.

3 thoughts on “Resurrecting Dresses (Part 2)

  1. Pingback: Resurrecting Dresses (Part 1) | Knitty Nerdy and Natural

Leave a Reply

