Darn it!

I’ve been knitting socks for approximately three years. My first two pairs are no longer with me. One pair was a gift for my grandfather and I have no notion of how they fair. The other, was hopelessly too large and, after two years, they were unraveled and given a new life as a pair of Helix Socks by Sean Riley. They have been enjoying much use since then.

IMG_8633However, I did notice, each time I wore them, that they were starting to look frailer and frailer. I was at yoga class Wednesday night, when I noticed that there was a hole in one of the heels.

It wasn’t a large hole by any means, it was only about two stitches wide. I figured it wouldn’t be too hard to learn to darn and save the sock.

Friday morning (since I didn’t have any classes) I decided was the prefect time to try it out. Since the heel was rather aggressively fuzzy, I preemptively shaved the outside of the heel of the sock using a disposable razor.

In the end the stitches were clearer and I had acquired a respectable pile of fuzz and had discovered a second, smaller hole. Then, I found a YouTube tutorial that would, hopefully, tell me everything I needed to know. IMG_8640

The first thing I found out was that I needed to turn the sock inside out. So I did, and
found that the inside was even fuzzier than the outside. (The astute of you will notice that this is still the outside.)

I followed the video’s instructions which were, despite the video not being very ‘fancy’, very good. I darned each hole separately even though they were close enough together that I could have probably done it all at once, I decided that I would just do two and get a little more practice out of it.

IMG_8642I used a bit of kit picks stroll that I had kicking around for a while. I know it doesn’t match at all, but I decided that it didn’t really matter since it was going to be on the heel which would be in a shoe most of the time. Even it wasn’t, it’s a small hole and not very noticeable. It was a little fiddly at first, but I think it went very well.

 

IMG_8649Here is the mending from the outside, barely noticeable! Overall, I think darning is pretty easy and, if one doesn’t let their holes get out of hand, not a particularly time-consuming process.

2 thoughts on “Darn it!

  1. Looks a lot better than my first darning attempt. I’ve seen pins on pintrest. Where you can pick up stitches a little wider than the hole. Then you sort of knit a patch over it. I quit knitting socks because I am so hard on them.

    Like

    • Thanks! Hmm, that’s interesting. This one was essentially weaving a patch over the hole. I can understand why one would stop knitting socks. It’s a shame to see something you put so much time into not holding up.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

