Like Magic

I love to go thrift shopping. Some people I know are always finding amazing things. Maybe they live in a bigger area than me, maybe they have a sort of aura about them that pulls in thrift store treasures.

However, once in a blue moon I find something great. Not just good, not just nice, great. It was a salmon pink-ish mesh top that looked great over my grey camisole.

Then, one day, as I pulled it out of the wash I got a horrible surprise.

IMG_7535

Despite the tag assuring me that it was machine washable my lovely pink treasure had unraveled just under the right armpit.

While my mom said I aught to just throw it out, since so much damage had been done, I didn’t think it was too far gone. There had to be a way to save it, some how.

The fact that the garment was ‘knit’ (I only say knit because of the fabric structure) was what, I believe made her think there was no hope, you can patch knitting. However, this was what made me think I could save it. IMG_7536

First, I gathered my materials. I decided after a fair amount of pondering that I would need a small crochet hook, a needle, and some thread that matched the color of my wounded garment.

 

Then, I grabbed my crochet IMG_7537hook and started picking up the runaway stitched one by one. Carefully I laddered them back up the front of the sweater doing my best to keep the tension even and all the while thanking my lucky stars that this was a ‘stockinette’ knit garment with the ‘knit’ side facing out, and that is was a simple cotton non-protein fiber which made it easy to see where each dropped stitch pothole was.

Eventually, of course one reaches the end of the bumpy ride, where the stitch came loose. Now, since this is an impostor machine knit it doesn’t really go anywhere. It just… stops. This is where IMG_7538the needle and thread comes in handy. I just sewed the loose stitch to the stitches above it as discretely as I could. Then I rinsed and repeated as many times as their were loose stitches. Some of them had run as far as they possible could, down to an increase where they were created. (I really have no idea since I have the distinct feeling that mass produced knitted garments are vastly different from the ones I ever-so-slowly turn out, and even rather different form machine knits done by real -life knitters, not a soul-sucking industrial assembly line.)

 

IMG_7540In the end I wound up with this. Pretty good huh? You can’t even see where I sewed the wee runaways in place unless you’re inappropriately close to my chest.

And that’s piece of clothing that was reborn once, and then destined for the trash, saved again. Just like magic

 

4 thoughts on “Like Magic

Leave a Reply

