It’s all About Me

All of you know I’m passionate about knitting, and my blog title suggests that there might be more in my life than yarn (gasp!). I am pleased to report that I am indeed, a round character. So what else is important to me? A lot of things. Probably more than is healthy.

Today, coincidently enough, the topic for the Sixth Annual Knitting & Crochet Blog Week (Hosted by the wonderful Eskimimi) is ‘It’s All About You’.

I’m passionate about my writing. In fact, I’m in the process of writing my second novel. I say second but the first was never finalized or published or anything like that, but, I got from beginning to end of the plot so I count it as finished. Currently I’m working on creating a writing blog. Really the only thing that is holding me back is self-doubt and laziness. I already have about five posts ready.

I am going to college (actually, I just finished my first year) to be an elementary/early childhood teacher. I am also planning to get my ESL (English as a Second Language) certificate. I started on this path when I heard my aunt talking about the students she had in her Pre-K class that she couldn’t communicate with. Something about the idea of being four or five and not ever knowing what the teacher was saying bothered me. I would never ask a child to give up their mother tongue, rather I want to help them become bilingual. Communication, written or spoken, is a beautiful thing and I think every person deserves the chance to communicate.

The earth, what is there to say about the earth? She holds us, clothes us, feeds us, gives us everything, really. I’m not going to get up on my soap box here, but I do believe we should take care of her as well. I try to keep the number of chemicals I use in my daily life minimal and I try to produce less waste. It’s the least I can do.

I’m also a huge superhero geek. I love Marvel and the Avengers and X-Men. My favorite would be Captain America. But even more so, I love the fandom. Despite crazy ships and horrible fanfiction people have turned these characters into beings in their own right. They have molded a diverse cast across the sexual spectrum and mental spectrum as well. Everyone has at least one character they can relate to. It’s beautiful and I look for the day when modern literature reflects this diversity. But, I digress. Whew, sorry guys!

I could go on and on about things I am passionate about but, I think I’ll leave it here. If you want to read more of my ramblings on any of these topics just let me know in the comments!

Hello! This is Day Two of a week-long blogging train hosted by Eskimimi (see link above). It’s still not too late to join. Just write a post and tag it KCBW6DAY2 and comment so I know to check it out. 

2 thoughts on “It’s all About Me

Leave a Reply

