FO Friday (Mark 4)

I can’t believe break is almost over. It’s been a week and I don’t feel like I have accomplished much. At least, knitting-wise. I’ve done quite a bit of homework. 😉 Anyway, I finished Daisy’s shrug (The Quick Knit Baby Shrug by Natalie Haban)  last night. I did frog a bit and increase it another inch or so.

IMG_6886

I added a few embroidered a few flowers on it and added a button closure. I had originally planned to use pretty pastels for the flowers. Pink, lavender, and light blue with silver centers to tie it together. Then I found the salmon-colored thread.

IMG_6888.

Oh man, that color. The picture just doesn’t quite do it. Color has always been a powerful force to me, so when it speaks I listen. I went back through my mom’s embroidery floss stash and found a darker blue and a bright yellow. I still used the silver for centers and I truly think the bright colors make the sweater. I even used a white button so as to not detract from the colors of the flowers.

The only other thing I have finished this week, crafting-wise (I finished a ten-page short story but that’s another, well, story) was these.

IMG_6885

I made seven (Wow, really?) lavender-scented sachets. All I needed was 10″ by 3″ of fabric, 1/4 cup of rice, and eight drops of lavender essential oil per sachet. The fabric is actually scraps my mom saved when she made me curtains when we redid my room when I was in seventh grade. My entire room is still purple. These will hopefully keep bugs out of my stash.

I am excited for spring but I’m starting to think that by the time I finish the MauveBerry mittens I won’t need them any more.

Leave a Reply

