Watcha Workin’ on Wednesday (s2 ep1)

I don’t know what it is about my love of the undead or the camaraderie between those of us whose zombie preparedness plans include stabbing with our various crafty tools but I have joined another KAL/CAL with the Knitting Dead group on Ravelry.com. I know, I should branch out more but really I haven’t ever found a Ravelry group that was both welcoming and active, but I digress.

This is, to be precise, a blanket-along. Any blanket, knitting or crochet, wip or started at the beginning, it doesn’t even have to be finished. This is simply a cheering squad for everybody, from January 1st to March 1st (it might even be extended).

I have decided that when in Rome… work on the crazy sock yarn blanket and cast on the Rugged Ripples blanket that started the whole discussion. In queen size, no less.  Here are the two pictures that I took before I started, for posterity.

IMG_6801  IMG_6805

As you can see, one is much wider than the other. I’m not so crazy as to think I’ll get either of them done in three months, my goals are much more sane.

  1. Knit a block every day on the Blanket, working straight across if I can
  2. Just add as much as I can to WoW (Wave on Wave, my name for Rugged Ripples)

Totally doable, right? Well, I’m already behind, I was away for the first five days of January so I’m playing catch-up.

If I’m adding to the Blanket every day I’m going to need an influx of sock yarn, right? Well, it’s a good thing then, that I cast on the Vanilla Socks (Toe up With an Afterthought Heel) in… well, to be honest I’m not 100% sure of the yarn. I was on a car ride with Rosie who wanted to ‘help’ so I gave her the label to hold. I know it was German and I know it was 100% superwash merino but that’s it.

IMG_6813

IMG_6815 I’m just past the heel which, as you probably have deduced, is an afterthought heel, my first. That little green line in the middle of the white stripe is where I’ll add the heel when the time comes. It’s a shame I didn’t grab any better pictures of the knit fabric, it’s self striping and makes a mock fair isle. I know right?!

 

 

 There’s one onther thing I’ve been working on, my novel. Bet you didn’t know I’ve been working on one of those almost as long as I have been blogging. The beginning of it is at the same quality level as my first blog posts. *shudders* There has also, thankfully been a lot of growth on my part and the original beginning has been scrapped and reworked. It is at 28,789 word which is 117 pages on MS word.

As always I link back to IKnead2Knit. If you want to join in on Watcha Workin’ on Wednesdays or the Blanket-along feel free! Just click on the links provided.

8 thoughts on “Watcha Workin’ on Wednesday (s2 ep1)

    • Thanks. I was at the lys where I purchased it for a pair of needles. I had time to kill so I was working on the socks and the owner goes “I’m knitting those socks too. I’ve been unenthusiastic about them but now seeing your progress I am excited to keep going.” I’ve been working on the scrap blanket for almost three years so I know exactly what you mean.

      Like

  1. I love both those blankets. My granny square one is on haitus while I work up the inclination to weave in some ends. If I keep making squares without weaving I’ll never do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

