FO Friday (Mark 2)

I know, technically, it isn’t Friday. Technically it’s Sunday. But, since I wrote this post up in my mind on Friday it counts as an FO Friday even if today isn’t technically Friday. Right? Don’t  question my logic, just look at the FOs.

First, we have Zombie Teeth (By Terri Kruse ). I knit it out of one skein of Bohemia Fibers’ Bohemian Sock (100% Superwash Merino, 2 Ply, 400 Yards, 100 Grams) in the colorway Pookie. It blocked wonderfully. Pre-block it was 44 & 1/2 inches long and it stretched easily all the way to 66 inches. I was nervous when I unpinned it but, it didn’t snap back.

image

image

I forgot my camera when I came home this weekend so these are awkward tablet selfies. There seems to be several ways to wear this shawlette but, this is my favorite. I absolutely loved this knit and I would have never knitted it if it wasn’t part of a KAL simply because it wasn’t a free pattern (What can I say, I was ‘knitting raised’ on knitty.com.) but, it was worth every penny. I know I’ll be knitting another one because my bestie has already asked about one.

My other FO has been an FO for a while. It’s Rosie, my niece’s, third birthday present. She has a thing for socks. She likes to take them off of her feet and wear them on her hands. She just loves socks. I spent thirty minutes on the way to Delaware this summer playing ‘this little piggy’ with her socked hands (I started with her toes but she wanted me to ‘do’ her fingers as well). I have been trying to give her books with her presents because reading rocks. This year I stumbled across a book from when I was little; Smelly Socks by Robert Munsch.

image

It’s about a little girl named Tina who gets the best pair of socks ever. She loves them so much she doesn’t want to ever take them off and that’s when the trouble starts.  What I did was knit up a pair of socks that matched the ones in the book. So Rosie will have a new book and awesome new socks to go with it. I used Knit Picks Stroll and another similar yarn that I’m blanking on right now. There was a yellow, Dandelion, that I wanted to use but it was out of stock until after Rosie’s birthday. The socks are toe-up and I just made them up as I went along. I think I re-started them about three times to get  the size right. Rosie is a very tiny three-year-old so these are smaller than most socks for kids her age.
That’s it. I hope next time I have more to share and it’s actually technically on a Friday.

6 thoughts on “FO Friday (Mark 2)

  1. Love the idea of those socks with the book. I keep insisting on buying books for the boyfriend’s niece as well (because reading DOES rock), and she’s always taking an interest in my knitting so I might have to steal this combined present idea from you 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

