Settling In

I really wanted to wait until I had my laptop back (technical difficulties) to write a blog post but as that time looks further and further away I decided to post one from my tablet. It’s not so bad really, I have a keyboard for it. Thank God, or I wouldn’t be able to type at all proficiently for my three online classes. But, those two things are each a rant for another time.

Anyway, (deep breath) I have been settling nicely here at the U. I already knew my roommate from my hometown. She is actually my best friend. Despite all the warnings against it, we seem to be doing well.

image

This is our dorm on move in day. Please ignore Lisa’s legs in the middle. My bed is the brown one. If you look closely, there is a familiar set of bedsheets. All of the rooms here are suites so the doorway you see in the middle lead to a sink, a bathroom, and a micro fridge (combination microwave and minifridge). There have been some changes to the room, my parents brought up some shelving and I put up a Captain America poster yesterday. The place looks more lived-in now.

My plants have made themselves at home on the window sill and sprouted. Did I ever do a post about them?

Nope, apparently not. Sorry! What I did was I planted eight different herbs and took them with me to school. So far five have sprouted.

image

From top to bottom we have sage, thyme, parsley, rosemary, and basil. I’ll post better pictures once I can use my camera for posts again.

I have been busy lately participating in my second-ever KAL (knit-a-long). I joined the Knitting Dead group on Ravelry. It’s a group that started out just for Walking Dead Fans but, by the time I joined, it had evolved into a group for all fans of the undead/supernatural. The folks over there are super inclusive and very friendly. I’d totally stop in if I were you. But I digress, the KAL is for the Zombie Teeth Shawlette (By Terri Kruse). It’s a simple garter stitch pattern with a little lace on each of the ‘teeth’.

image

I’m probably about 3/4 of the way done. I’m using one skein of Bohemia Fibers’ Pookie (Walking Dead fans will get it.) It will definitely need some aggressive blocking. Which reminds me, I need pins! There’s a fabric shop down the street from campus and I’m sure they have some regular pins there I can buy. This pattern, over all is super easy and it is great to see all the other ones being worked up. (The linky there is to the page with all the projects in this specific KAL)

I hope I’ll be able to post again soon, and this time, from my laptop.

Leave a Reply

